Fitting New front speakers !!!!! All explained

Started by Anonymous, June 7, 2003, 11:36

Anonymous

Right some of you may rember i posted this ages ago on the old forum but a few people may find this interesting so here's what you need to up grade the front speaker.

A good set of 6.5" compents with a 1" tweeter (silk dome)
12mm MDF board
A few long screws and around 3-4mm thick
Sound deadening (dynomat or brown bread)
Speaker wire 12 awg
crimpers and bullet and sockets
Soldering iron
and patents!

First you need to make  a spacer like in the pciture made from 12 mm MDF

you can make these by tracing round the outline of the old mounting (plastic one) and making the opening a bit bigger so that the chassis of teh speaker fit's in. Or i can make them for you and send them throguht the post as i have a master to copy from. Contact me for spacers.

To show how the speaker will fit in car picture below shows how the spacer moves the speaker away from the glass that retracts in the door.

See how far the speaker is set away from the spacer

Next all components sets will come with a Cross over, some sets come with an active cross over witch means that a power suply is needed but most dont, I mounted the cross overs in the doors as then you only have to run 1 set of speaker wire throguth the door gromet. Heres the postion i mounted mine in you have to take a large peice of foam out but this is only for sound deadening and will be made redundant when the dynomat is layed:

Running speaker wire throught the gromet in the door is the hardest thing in this set up, The gromet are only desgined to take small wires not thick 12awg speaker wire so i would suggest getting a coat hanger or draw wire and taping the end of the speaker wire to this and then sparying WD40 on the end so that it will slide throgh easyier. Note i have done 10 2's now and it takes me about 30 mins to pull one set of speaker wires though so it takes time.