Netz style bar install guide, by Nelix.

Started by Anonymous, August 16, 2007, 21:13

Anonymous

First of all a disclaimer- I am not a professional, merely an ungifted amateur. This guide is simply how I installed my Netz style bar and I accept no responsibility  for any damage or accidents you incur if you choose to follow this guide.

This was bought from Japanparts through Spyderchat as members get a discount.
Cost shipped was £200
Customs etc was a further £65
Delivery was about two weeks.

In the box.
One Netz style bar.
Two washers.
One rhs template (no lhs for some strange reason)
One sheet of instructions, in Japanese.  s:? :? s:?  

I strongly suggest that you make a few copies of the template as these are destroyed during use. The rhs template supplied can be used for the lhs by simply turning it upside down.

Tools required.
Large vocabulary of swear words. (optional0
Socket set (13mm socket needed}
Flat blade screwdriver, if needed to prise off plastics.
Drill and 45mm hole saw. I strongly suggest you use a good quality hole saw, i used a cheapo from my drill bit kit and although it cut the first hole perfectly, it chewed the second hole due to being blunt.

Install.

1. Remove the plastic door sill covers, i simply pulled them up from the inside edge and they popped off.

Put them somewhere safe.

2. Using a 13mm socket, undo the lower seat belt mounting bolts behind the seats.

3.Now remove the two  studs at the top of the side pillar plastics by pushing in the centre with a sharpish object and remove the  studs then unclip the side pillar plastics, agan simply by prising off with your fingers or a flat blade scewdriver (covered with a rag) I found the best way to do this was by pulling away from the outside edge. Make sure you find the two white press studs, they may still be in place on the plastic or they may have fallen off.
Keep the two studs and two white press studs from each plastic side panel in a safe place.