Respray or body wrap?

Started by deviantmr-s, August 22, 2017, 06:51

deviantmr-s

I have a number of stone chips and a couple of scrapes on the front underside and I have tried building up the paint etc on the chips, but not happy with the end result.

Contemplating a respray, but that then opens up a minefield of possibilities... do I go for just a respray of the affected areas or the whole car? If so do I change the colour? Do I go for a bespoke off the wall colour and design lol...

Or do I consider a complete body wrap? Has anyone used the body wrap vinyls? Or can they recommend someone I can speak to to get advice etc.?
I am an artist - the track is my canvas, my car is my brush - 2003 2zz Island Green Supercharged

The Other Stu

At Jap Perf on Sunday, Custom Paints were there. Their paint is very cheap. I've had a chat with them in the past and they admit their paint isn't that hard wearing until you put the clear coat on.

2 litres of kit spray (that's 2 litres of silver base plus a pearl coat and a 2k clearcoat and thinners) is ~£220.

I saw one of their cars. It's mightily impressive if I'm honest. As good a candy finish as I've ever seen.
No Longer Here

jvanzyl

ummm are you saying that a full spray is £220??

Essex2Visuvesi

Quote from: "jvanzyl"ummm are you saying that a full spray is £220??
That's just for the paint.
You'll still need a primer coat and labour to flat and prepare the bodywork

lukeydoo

Quote from: "The Other Stu"At Jap Perf on Sunday, Custom Paints were there. Their paint is very cheap. I've had a chat with them in the past and they admit their paint isn't that hard wearing until you put the clear coat on.

2 litres of kit spray (that's 2 litres of silver base plus a pearl coat and a 2k clearcoat and thinners) is ~£220.

I saw one of their cars. It's mightily impressive if I'm honest. As good a candy finish as I've ever seen.

That's not cheap! And no basecoat is hardwearing - that's why it is clear coated!