Tyres. In need of up to date information.

Started by Mr Lazy, August 12, 2020, 14:18

Mr Lazy

Yes I know, it's a tyres post (yawn, here we go again). Moderators, please feel free to move this if I have posted in the wrong area. I have read loads of old posts on here about tyres but I can't find much clear up to date information. I am an average driver with no ego (no traffic light racing for me). No track days or anything - I just like to enjoy the 2's handling in the twisty back roads a little. Essentially then, I probably represent the majority of people on here.

The trouble is that I can't seem to find any tyres that are suitable for Mr/Ms average. Yokohama AD08R seem to be popular here. However, I get the impression that while they handle well in the dry, they are stiff and unforgiving and don't grip well in the wet. They are also no longer available for all four corners, having been superseded by the AD08RS, which aren't well documented here. They are expensive too, although I would pay up if they really are worth the extra.

Toyo T1-R also seem popular and appear to be the opposite of the Yokomahas - soft and squidgy. So it seems that they are comfortable but don't bring out the best of the car's handling. They are also now unavailable (certainly not front and rear in the correct size anyway). Are the TR1 a direct replacement? The tread looks completely different and they aren't available in the correct size.

I'm sure I have exaggerated a little above in terms of the feel of the tyres, but I am just looking for a tyre for an average driver that has a good compromise between comfort and performance that is still available now and can be had for the front and rear in the correct size. Not a lot to expect I would have thought as most people probably want the same.

Can anyone help who KNOWS that their tyre of choice is still available? Mine is a 2003 model by the way, so I guess I am only talking to FL owners here.

tricky1138