Painting car parts (eyebrows, TTE inserts, TRD bodykit)

Started by rtbiscuit, February 4, 2007, 12:21

rtbiscuit

well i have started on several other threads gathering people vast amounts of knowledge in order to do this. so i thought i should share the process as i go along, sort of produce a photo guide.

i shall post the pics on here as i go and build the guide at the same time.

any one who wants to have input is most welcome and hopefully this should encourage more people to do it and have a go, the results are very rewarding.

(before i start this, this instructions are mine and also those who have helped on other threads. if you choose to do this and it all goes wrong, i am not responsible, i am not a proffessional sprayer and have learnt by practice. if you are unsure practice first on a piece of scrap, then if you feel confident try it on your car part. i have to say this you know the procedure with disclaimers and the like.)

1. step one get the car parts you want to spray, i bought the very rare TAN eyebrows (replica of the DAMD ones) and i also managed to get hold of a set of TTE rear bumper inserts.

2. in order to paint i needed some. spray cans were my option as i don't have a compressor and spray gun (yet   s:) :) s:)  ) spoke to many people on here and was instantly recommended to these people

m https://www.paints4u.com/ m

they are excellent, match any colour you want vast selection and there spray cans are far more useable than any, very good even delivery, with no dribbles. i also bought a spray gun handle which makes things very easy.

3.  what did i get:
- a rubber glove - to hold items with and stop grease transfer.
- grade 600 wet and dry - preps the surface for painting.
- methelyated spirits - degrease the surface before painting.
- plastic primer - helps the paint flex with the part when dry.