Caliper Paint Problem??

Started by northernalex, April 28, 2006, 17:51

northernalex

did a quick search but didnt find anything.

OK, I'm a complete newbie, I admit it. But I pained me calipers on Sunday and today (5 days later) its still tacky. Its dry to the touch but if you push with your finger a deep fingerprint appears. You can get your nail in it too.  I think I may have done something wrong? Put on too many coats or something.  

Can anyone reccomend a good way to get this paint off.. Or is this normal, Ive been told it should go rock hard.  

Maybe stop doing anything to me car untill Ive had it more than a month?

Cheers guys
evileye_xc said:
"I already saw it. I\'m hoping to gain the record for the \'Person who is most quoted in signatures"

GSB

Give it time. Unless its a 2 pack paint it'll require either a heated garage, or a month of Sundays in the current weather. If you could try a hair dryer, but that does come with a risk of looking like an utter berk in your driveway...
[size=50]Ex 2001 MR2 Roadster in Silver
Ex 2004 Facelift MR2 Roadster in Sable Grey
Ex 2007 Mazda 6 MPS in Mica Black
Current 2013 Mazda MX5 2.0 \'Venture Edition\' Roadster Coupe in Brilliant Black[/size]

northernalex

Ahh so it should dry, now I feel completly dumb.. Wanna pint?
evileye_xc said:
"I already saw it. I\'m hoping to gain the record for the \'Person who is most quoted in signatures"

MRMike

Like Grant says I would dry it with a hairdyer before driving, otherwise you'll get a build up of all sorts of crap and it will look pretty gash.
[size=75]*Sold 03 UK spec, silver, Red Interior TTE Twin, Euro spoiler, TTE Chrome roll bar, Blitz Induction, VVTI Badged, Pioneer SAT Nav/DAB Tuner, Boston Acoustics Components, Boston amp, Gtech Pro C, TRD Gearknob, B&M linkage, Bama Deflector, Chrome dials, Corky Breast Plate, TTE springs,

Then.. Blue 350Z
and den....black S2000 with red leather interior  
and den.... New Imola Orange S2000