the wrapping thread (pic heavy thread)

Started by peteyb, November 25, 2014, 00:21

peteyb

so... a thread about wrapping, how i started off, to where i am now, with afew hint tips a tricks ive leant along the way   s:) :) s:)  i am by no means a professional, ive got no 3M certs behind me, just a dude who started off small and its slowly getting bigger and better, also dont take this as a 'im after your custom' either, unless you want to give it  s:D :D s:D  hahaha

so where to start, this will be pic heavy, so we shall start in the beggining, bear in my, i didnt pass my test untill i was 29, due to not really needing it!!
so my first car, good old corsa c, altho not just any corsa c, my first car was a 1.8sri, 140bhp, 0-60 in 7 seconds kinda corsa, 51 plate, 98k on the clock.....

so here she stood, the day i got her, bog standard, bar the alloys and the awesome big bore exhuast that sounded more like a scooby on idle and rumble and popped like a rally car, so much fun!!!

not to shabby, altho that whip on the roof had to go!!!! not bad for 1100quid if you ask me  s:) :) s:)

the first wrap, the bonnet clear coat was failing, hell, its old, its allowed!! so being a silver car and wanting to keep away from the boy racer style i went for a silver 3d carbon, this was my first ever attempt at wrapping, after watching afew videos and bits i thought id give it a go

tip 1 : when removing the backing liner, and you only peal off half, and finish one half of the bonnet, the liner is EXTREMELY arkward to get to, so handy tip, pull on liner half way, cut the excess off, and fold it under, makes it a hell of alot easyer to pull off when you get to do the second half!!

after doing the bonnet, it looks like it needed abit more, mirrors are the hardest to do due to the concave shape, being a corsa, the back of the mirros just pops off, took me 2 attempts to get this right, over stretching was the downfall, the wrap tries to shrink back to shape over time