Sponge or Mitt?

Started by paulj, April 4, 2020, 17:05

paulj

A long time ago (30+ years) I worked in a garage cleaning cars.  It was the days of sponges and chamois and I have stuck with that system ever since.

But staying in has had me looking at google.  Am I perhaps stuck in the dark ages as materials and technology has moved on?  Wash Mitts seem to get equal good and bad reviews on the web so I would really appreciate any views.  And is the chamois a thing of the past also, should I be using a microfibre cloth?

Always willing to learn from you fine people!

Thanks.

PS the car did get a wash today with the sponge (!)
Today
2000 x reg pfl - blue - as original no mods
In the late 1980's
1982 x reg Toyota Corolla Liftback Coupe (also blue)
1978 s reg Mitsubishi Celeste Coupe (yellow)

Chilli Girl

I, like you Paul for years used to use a sponge and chamois until I got Foxy 4 years ago but now I use a micro fibre sponge which basically is a sponge with a micro fibre lining round it and dry off with a huge micro fibre drying cloth.  ;D
Ex owners of Chilli red facelift 52 reg called Chilli, silver 55 reg called Foxy and blue pfl W reg MR-S called Sapphire. Now 2 less!

H1GRM

I think micro-fibre sponges and cloths are definitely more popular and probably more scratch resistant. I have both and use both depending on how the mood takes me.
https://www.mr2roc.org/forum/index.php?topic=66294.0<br /><br />TTE Turbo 6R4 Forest Green - Y55 GRM <br />Jeep Wrangler - H1 GRM

Call the midlife!

I think a lot of it has to do with the changes in paint technology, modern auto paints are a lot softer than back in the day and suffer from swirling from modern, "car" sponges which also generally seem to be more harsh and plasticky than the ones I remember washing the family cars with as a nipper.
I also think a lot of it is to generate sales by the manufacturers of modern products, it's a massive, massive market with waaaay too many choices available.