ULEZ - how to make compliant?

Started by Dagnet, July 28, 2023, 15:29

Dagnet

Hello everyone. It looks like the ULEZ expansion is actually going ahead in London. Unfortunately, I own a 2000 pre-facelift model that isn't compliant. However, the exact same car (same engine, same catalytic converter, so same emissions) that is 2001, 2002 or 2003 reg is ULEZ charge exempt. It is in my understanding that these cars were designed to pass strict emission standards, due to using a pre-cat and a main cat.

Does anyone know if it is possible to make my car ULEZ charge exempt? And what I will need to do?

It's rather difficult finding any information or pointers on this issue so any input will help.

Dag

Topdownman

I have no experience of ulez myself but cant imagine that there is anything you can do to change an individual car, it is going to be based on the reg. no and what the database they use says about it.

You could check the database for other pre facelift reg nos (look on autotrader etc for some examples) to see if they are the same as your car. If they are not, perhaps you could challenge the actual database?

If they  are the same, I assume you would need to change to a facelift car that is ok.
"Racing" tax disc holder (binned), Poundland air freshener, (ran out), Annoying cylinder deficiency,  (sorted),
Winner of the Numb bum award 2017
Readers Ride

06 not V6 readers ride

shnazzle

You can make it technically ULEZ compliant by adding a post-cat O2 sensor and changing the ECU to a facelift.
But the car won't be registered as such and you know the gov't; if computer says no...
...neutiquam erro.

Alex Knight

I would challenge it.

My 2014 Euro 6 Audi A3 was showing as not being eligible for the Bristol clean air zone.

Given it's Euro status of 6, I challenged this and they changed it in a few days.

Dagnet