2006 Passenger side window no longer retracts

Started by carspath, October 13, 2023, 16:12

carspath

As per the title the passenger window is stuck in the UP ( fortunately , considering today's downpour ) position .

The Driver's side window works perfectly - the passenger side window not at all .

1 ) What is the logical sequence for tryingto detect what the fault is .... ie , which of the components within the chain has the worst history for breaking down ?

2 ) I am not technically minded , nor do I have many tools , but i wonder if a wire has come loose from teh window motor ----- how do I remove the door card to check this ?

3 ) Also how would i access the centre console switch to see if that is at fault ? 

All suggestions and advice gratefully received .

SV-3

Hi

Check/operate the window lock switch to the right of the steering wheel.
'03 Mk3 Chilli Red (Avon ZV7's: 26F/32R)
Sony WX-920BT
"Hardtop Cognoscenti"
"Stock Cubed"
"AirCon Aficionado"
"Keeper of the Beeper"
Ex '88 Mk1b White (Yokohama A539's: 26F/28R)
"Here we all are, rumours and old toffee abound." John Martyn

Gibla

From the symptoms you gave

I had very similar, and it turned out to be the passenger window switch which was 'gummed-up' with carbon like goo that simply needed cleaning off with sandpaper/file.

You access this by loosening the centre console which is held in by a screw on either side of it. 

This is if reply in post #1 didn't work
stock 2001 Dark Green MR-S (6R4)
stock 2004 Black - repurchased from guy who bought yellow 'un

Joesson

@carspath
As @SV-3 writes check the window lock switch to the right of the steering wheel.
That will stop the passenger window opening.
You will not be the first to fall foul of the switch that has no useful function!

Ardent

s12vea

TF204 Blue
Another one won't hurt  .....

fawtytoo

That darned switch has had me a couple of times.
"My name is not important" - Slartibartfast

Ardent

carspath

Hi everyone ,

Thanks for all the replies