1st MOT failed...

Started by Chris, March 15, 2006, 09:58

Chris

Had a rather disturbing call from the dealer last night that my '2 had failed it's 1st mot - co2 emissions too high apparently!!

I can only think of three possible causes in my case, as i don't have any other engine mods:

1) unichip
2) damaged o2 sensors when removed for heatshield painting
3) h+s inlet elbow

I reckon the unichip is most likely - anyone else had problems?  I've still got my precats by the way, so i was a little surprised that it failed...
[size=100]
2004 Maroon Lotus Elise 111R[/size]
[size=80]Ex 2004 Red 6sp MT TTE Turbo
Ex 2003 Astral Black 6sp SMT
Ex 2002 Lagoon Blue 5sp MT
[/size]

spit

I'd go for O2s as the prime suspect

I'm no expert (get the disclaimer in early and please  s:flame: :flame: s:flame:  if I'm talking bunkum!) but here's my logic on this....

Under MOT test conditions, the car's ECU should be self-regulating fuel using feedback from only the O2s. So, even if your MAF is grubby and you've changed the intake, the O2s should feedback any mix problem and the ECU will adjust.

.......or the garage probe is grubby and poorly calibrated - not unheard of.

I'd clean the sensors, reset the ECU, go for a good punt and try again. & when it passes get those precats out  s:wink: :wink: s:wink:  

I've heard suggestion that mapping timing adjustment can play a part but I still haven't got my head around how the extent of the burn isn't picked up and adjusted through the O2 feedback to ECU  s:oops: :oops: s:oops:  Perhaps others can elaborate.
1999 MR-S with added C2 POWΣR

Humbled recipient of the Perry Byrnes memorial trophy (2007 & 2011)

Ernie Ball

Just out of curiosity, why wouldn't you take the unichip out as a precautionary measure prior to the MOT?

Chris

yeah thinking about it now, i probably should've of done ernie, but i just didn't think of it at the time...
[size=100]
[/size]

Chris

well, that was an expensive mistake!!!