How to replace soft top by Kool PT

Started by Kool PT, March 1, 2009, 22:35

Kool PT

How to replace a Toyota MR2 Roadster soft top by Kool PT.

OK, after managing to find myself a new Toyota soft-top at a fraction of the standard new price I was stuck wondering if I should attempt to fit it myself or put it to a garage/fitter for peace of mind. Toyota said it would take 8 hours to do and quoted me something like £700 inc vat to fit. I managed to get my own hands on a guide of sorts so I thought I might as well give it a go as it was forecast to be a nice weekend. I have not finished the re-assembly yet but I thought I would post pics of the disassembly. From fully fitted to entirely removed took me 2.5 hours on my own - and I am far from a mechanical expert, a year ago I had never even changed a car's oil or fitted a new air filter.

Here is the car as it looked first thing this morning. I had fitted a perspex window which was fastened on with pop-rivets. Less than ideal but kept the wind and rain out save for a bit of moisture from time to time. If anyone else finds themselves in my boat I would recommend it as a quick fix as there isn't much that can be done with the old roof.

1. Pop off the scuff plates on both sides of the car. There are 4 clips which hold them on, push them inwards with a screwdriver or similar object to unlatch them. I used a current testing tool, with a pointed end which turned out to be perfect for this and the other steps that require a similar action.

2. Remove the 'lower rear separator covers' by pulling out the fastenings marked on both sides of the car. I used my fingers for some and a pair of needle nose pliers for the more stubborn ones. You might want to wrap the latter in duck tape or similar if you're protective about the condition of your fastenings. Once the fittings are out, lift the whole thing out of the cabin.

3. Remove 'quarter trim panels'. First step is to undo the bolt which fastens the seatbelt to the floor.