Windscreen creaking/squeaking when softop/hardtop down

Started by vatovey, September 16, 2009, 09:50

vatovey

Morning all,

Due to the recent nice weather, I have used my MR2 with the hard-top off, and soft-top down, all good.... except for one problem, when driving along - and I happen to go over a bump in the road (which is very common on the roads of S.Wales) it sounds very much like the windscreen or surrounding support structure is creaking/squeaking, it doesn't sound right, is there anything obvious I can check ?

When the hard-top or soft-top are in place - there is no creaking/squeaking sound.

Cheers, Vaughn.

wbarrwebster

Hi,

I'm no expert and I'm  sure someone more qualified than me will be along.
Meantime, I can confirm that as a 2 seater convertible the car suffers from a certain amount of scuttle and shake. I have a pre facelift which I've fitted the Cusco mid brace, the lower rear brace, rear mount brace and front top brace just to make her a bit tighter!
The hardtop "pulls it together" more and deadens a lot of the scuttle!

Hope this helps.

B
W. B. Webster

roger

I would go with that as well. You will probably either have to live with it or get some bracing.
Roger

EX: \'04 Sable + PE Turbo and many other things
NOW: MR2 on steroids - \'12 Merc SLK200 AMG125

Use Spydersearch if you are stuck for information. Please.
Check my fuel consumption

Liz

Yep, welcome to the world of MR2 Roadster ownership - it squeaks and rattles. Will give my normal advice - just turn the radio up, stop listening to rattles and enjoy driving it!  s:D :D s:D
ex-TTE Turbo, now Freelander Sport, its not a car its a Landrover!

Anonymous

Ease your mind, there is not a problem with your car. No, the problem is with everyone's  s:( :( s:(
I can confirm, that went I test drove mine, and on the drive home after purchase, I was extremely happy and thought the MR2 was like my old boxster, only slower.