Touch up paint

Started by Anonymous, July 1, 2003, 08:54

Anonymous

I came out of Safeway yesterday to find that someone had very kindly left a large graze on the passenger side of the front bumper.  s:twisted: :twisted: s:twisted:    s:twisted: :twisted: s:twisted:    s:twisted: :twisted: s:twisted:  

The grazing is quite deep as, in places, the chilli red paint has been scraped right off to what looks like the base layer (undercoat??).

I'm confident there's no actual dent, just scratching. I received as tin of touch up paint with the car. Could I use this to paint over the scratches? How would I apply this paint? I've never done anything like that before so any help would be gratefully appreciated.  s:D :D s:D

Anonymous

get something like a cocktail stick or a small bit of card (and cut a point into one end). Then get a VERY SMALL amount of paint on it and almost drop it into the scratch... you then want to leave that for a hour or so and treat it with some LANGKA blob remover to get rid of the nasty blob of paint it leaves - job done!

I dont have the link for the place i got my langka but its called 'frosts' i think. If you come to JAE i will be bringing all this kinda stuff with me so your more than welcome to try it out there!

Anonymous

Excellent Kris, I have a few minor scratches exactly the same place by the sounds of it from iain.

I will be interested to see what this Langka Blob stuff is like.  I also have a couple of stone chips which need attention...hopefully the new mud flaps should stop some of these.

Anonymous

I also have a Mer scratch repare kit which i have seen, but not used yet (thank god) - if they are bad, we can use this. Its scary when doing it, but the end result is amazing!

All of this will be your own responsibility though and im not being held responsible if you drive away in a very silver-metalic looking car when it used to be red or blue!   s:lol: :lol: s:lol:

Anonymous