02 sensor heater

Started by Sweetas, December 6, 2010, 14:05

Sweetas

Hey all, newbie here  s:) :) s:)

I posted a topic a copy of weeks back about my engine management light came on 2 days after purchase.

My code reader finally arrived today and the code error was "02 sensor heater circuit bank 1 sensor2"

Now like I said I'm a newbie lol so do I have to replace the 02 sensor or is it something different like a fuse or part on the sensor that can be replaced?

Thanks

wbarrwebster

Hi,

You'll have to replace the sensor. Determine which one ( not sure but if you do a search it will come up)

Also, don't be paying daft prices..again do a search on here.

Hope this helps.

B
W. B. Webster

Sweetas

I can't find on the net which one the bank 1 sensor 2 is. I can find bank 1 sensor 1 lol think I need a Haynes manual :/

Sweetas

after searching hard and reading hard about this problem i found a very good comment from a member on here which makes complete sense and has put my mind at rest lol

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
he put:

Each O2 sensor has a built in heater inside it. The heaters are used to get the Zirconia mesuring sensors inside them up to operating temperature quickly so that they can get on with the job of measuring oxygen. This gains vital seconds in the process of gaining efficient emissions control on a cold start of the engine. Once the engine is hot, clearly anything in the exhaust flow is'nt going to be in need of heaters! The ECU monitors these heaters by measuring the current going to them, to much or too little flags up the fault code you have at the moment. The sensor itself is still working, it just takes a while to warm up... Again, having a duff heater in an otherwise functional 3rd O2 sensor wont cause any problems with engine managment.