PCV System - Be aware.

Started by dcod, October 16, 2011, 18:44

dcod

Introduction

Firstly, I'll start by saying that I'm not a mechanic. All information I give is from my own personal experience and from research.

I'm creating this post because I believe the PCV system is an important part of your engine and has the potential to cause irreparable damage if not maintained.

PCV (Positive Crankcase Ventilation) System

QuoteA crankcase ventilation system is a way for gases to escape in a controlled manner from the crankcase of an internal combustion engine. A common type of such system is a positive crankcase ventilation (PCV) system, the heart of which is a PCV valve—a variable-restriction valve that can react to changing pressure values and intermittently allow the passage of the gases to their intended destination (which nowadays is the engine's intake stream).

m http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crankcase_ ... ion_system m

Potential Dangers

1. Excessive Oil Consumption.
2. Sludge Buildup.
3. Engine Wear.
4. Catalyst for Oval Bore/Precat Failure? Unknown.

QuoteApproximately 70% of these 'blowby' gases are unburned fuel (HC) that can dilute and contaminate the engine oil, cause corrosion to critical parts and contribute to sludge build up. At higher engine speeds, blowby gases increase crankcase pressure that can cause oil leakage from sealed engine surfaces

m http://www.autoshop101.com/forms/h63.pdf m