RE040 V T1-R

Started by Zonda_, November 30, 2011, 13:18

Zonda_

Before people point out these tyres are both discontinued, I know, but I need a pair of front tyres now and their replacements aint available yet.  I've used T1-Rs on various cars in the past and like them however I have no experience of Bridgestone.  Are the RE040's really worth the extra £30 a tyre?
2001 Roadster, che manifold, 40mm lowering springs, BMC Carbon intake mounted behind battery.

onion86

What do you have on the rear if you're replacing the fronts? It would be best to keep all 4 tyres the same, don't go mixing tyre brands if you don't have to it *can* be unsafe.
Sable 55 C-One MR2 C2 Turbo - A/C, Black Heated Leather, TTE Twin Exhaust, Cruise Control

Zonda_

The rears are some hateful cheap make but unfortunately they are new and I can't justify binning them as much as I'd like to.
2001 Roadster, che manifold, 40mm lowering springs, BMC Carbon intake mounted behind battery.

Wabbitkilla

Well either get the hateful same make & model for the front, or change them all to Toyo T1R's.

T1R's are available, you don't need to religiously stick to the stock sizes .. have a look at the tyre reviews for pointers.
Mixing tyres on the 2, having cheap & nasty tyres on the 2 , will cost you in the long run - you're more likely to find yourself in a ditch.
Cute & fluffy animals were definitely hurt during the production of this post, there're plenty more where they came from
Aztec Bronze S2 Elise 111S
Campovolo Grey Abarth 595 Competizione

onion86

Quote from: "Zonda_"The rears are some hateful cheap make but unfortunately they are new and I can't justify binning them as much as I'd like to.
I'd change all 4 to Toyos, depending on the sizes they can be a lot cheaper than RE040s, when I looked a while ago it was about £20 more to do 4 Toyos than just 2 RE040s!