Improve BHP without turbo

Started by swampy_donkey, August 24, 2013, 12:20

swampy_donkey

Hi guys,

I was just wondering the best way to improve BHP without the addition of a turbo kit. I'm quite new to all this and the search turns up too many confusing responses.

Any responses much appreciated.

Many thanks

Rob
K&N panel filter - Markiii Pipe - TRD Style Bar - Chrome Filler Cap - Hard Top - Clear Side Indicators - Visor Plugs - Dev\'s Keyhole Covers - Silver Callipers - Pioneer DEH-4400BT + CD-SR110 - Red Leather Interior - Red footwell LEDs - Mud Flaps - Custom fit luggage - OBDII reader

Wabbitkilla

Quite expensively   s:wink: :wink: s:wink:  
 l viewtopic.php?f=7&t=27521 l
Cute & fluffy animals were definitely hurt during the production of this post, there're plenty more where they came from
Aztec Bronze S2 Elise 111S
Campovolo Grey Abarth 595 Competizione

Andys-N20

Depends on how much you are planning on adding.
Looking at the link 'Wabbitkilla' gave you I divert your attention to the post by 'MR 2ster'

Age of Car:
2000 Original Engine

Miles completed:

Engine Mods:
None

Induction Mods:
Markiii induction pipe.......                          You can use silicon hose etc so this could be as little as £15.00
TOM's Panel Filter.......                                A branded panel filter is about £30-£40
Slightly tweaked induction pipe.......           Not sure what this mod was

Exhaust Mods:
Decatted manifold.......                               You can do that for free
Apexi N1 exhaust.......                                 Second hand sports exhaust could be about £200 ish

Engine Electronics:
Dastek Unichip......                              I think this will only make about 3 BHP so you should be looking at about 155BHP without it
Iridium spark plugs.......                             about £25

Mapping:
Not yet!

All other components fitted to the car are handling related - springs and bracing etc.

Performance:
157.4 BHP
140 Lb Ft at 4400 RPM