Home-made induction kit help!

Started by 7slaterj, September 4, 2015, 20:54

7slaterj

Evening everyone   s:) :) s:)  I hope all is well.

I'm looking for some input and solution architecture before I go crazy tomorrow and start cutting up my air box and dismantling the OEM intake.

So I have the 45' intake pipe, I have the Blitz filter, and I have some pipe clamps and some cold air intake pipes to feed from the side vent. Just missing the MAF housing which I will look at cutting up tomorrow   s:lol: :lol: s:lol:  

I need some help before I go to work tomorrow. Take a look at the pictures below;

I bought the cone without any official adapters etc because it was only £30  s:) :) s:)  So the question is, how do I go about putting the cone filter onto the end of my setup
(Filter << MAF << 45' pipe << Throttle Body)

The (Filter << MAF) section needs some sort of buffer/adapter in between so it sits snug, so please suggest something!

Thanks,   s:D :D s:D  I'm rather new to tuning/modifications but it's been done before.

The filter will sit behind the battery and the side vent will have the cold air pipes running from it to the filter, I might also make some dodgy shielding from tin foil and stuff  s:P :P s:P

T

7slaterj

ohh, and is it possible for the MAF housing to sit on the other side of the setup? so directly connected to the throttle body (Filter << 45' pipe << MAF << Throttel Body)??

Jandaw

I think you are making life difficult for yourself, I know you want to put your own stamp on the installation. Ditch the blitz and get a K&N you'll have no trouble fitting the filter, it just clamps on.
You can't mount the MAF on the throttle body so you'd have two lots of flexi and the elbow is pretty short anyway.
Bear in mind you will be picking up air at exactly the same point as the normal induction system so you don't need to duct to the filter.

7slaterj

Thanks Jandaw,