£350 to replace handbrake cables??

Started by mister bridger, November 1, 2017, 17:23

mister bridger

My 2001 MR2 failed it's MOT on poor handbrake effort. No problem I thought, just get the garage to do the tighten up trick. No, cables are seized and need to be replaced. Is it really THAT big a job? This is not a main dealer but an independent garage I have been using for more nearly 30 years.

JoeCool

I'd say it's fair to a bit pricey for just that job, if it includes the  new cables. It involves dropping the fuel tank. They've probably just taken book time and multiplied by their hourly labour charge. I'm not sure if there's a 'shortcut' way to do the job, it's not one I'd fancy attempting without a lift.

However, once the cables seize, they stop actuating the calipers properly, so then they seize too... When I got it done I just fitted new (well, refurbished) calipers to the rear as well, make a job lot of it.
2ZZ '02 Roadster

Carolyn

Agree with Joe.  That's a bit on the pricey side, but not ridiculous.  I think there are some members who have had the job done for around £250.  Three hour job.  Seats out, various plastics out, lower petrol tank remove and replace cables, adjust, put interior back together.  When you figure in the cost of the cables and add on the good old vat, you can see how it mounts up.
Perry Byrnes Memorial Award 2016, 2018.  Love this club. 
https://www.mr2roc.org/forum/index.php?topic=63866.0

Ardent

Mr B
Where are you based?
If you are in striking distance of Loughborough, give Steve at D1 Customs a call.
In our affiliates section. Highly recommended.
Or even just call him anyway to get a price.
At least you will know if your local garage is coming it, or overpriced the job if they don't fancy it.

ilovejapcrap

Not sure how much the cables are but I did in 2 hours on my drive !

Samuel

Same here. It's labor mainly. A lot of time needed to take the vehicle apart to get to the mounting bolt above the fuel tank.

mister bridger