Hand Brake/Rear Caliper - again.

Started by MRG, June 1, 2018, 10:46

MRG

I wanted to share my experience of rear brake caliper issues in case the MR2r collective have any further advice. Three things to note off the bat, 1) for context I'm a novice tinkerer and hoped to use this as a learning exercise, 2) no pictures, sorry and 3) although I've learned loads, this is not a success story so I apologies if you found this while looking for a guide on how to do this right.

Here are a couple of diagram links that may help ....
http://mr2oc.co.uk/jimi/Mk1rearcalipers/CaliperRemoval1.jpg
https://toyotaparts.checkeredflag.com/images/parts/toyotaOEM/fullsize/a1_471919A.jpg

My story, along, I'm sure, with many of yours starts with an MOT failure. Mine, due to the hand brake not holding the rear drivers side wheel. This was similar to the failure 12 months ago which resulted in me paying a competent mechanic to replace one of the cables although I'm not 100% which side. This time however with me wanting to get some experience I would rather tackle the job myself.

My first port of call was to remove the centre console and have a gander at what the hand brake cable was doing. On inspection it was clear that the passenger side had full movement but the driver's side had none.

Next was to look at the caliper itself. I unhooked the cable from hand brake leaver at the back of the right drivers side caliper and attempted to manually move the lever by hand. Nothing moved, completely seized. Ok, that's not right, I have 2 options; new caliper or refurb. As this was a learning exercise I opted for the later. I picked up a seals and new piston kit and a few days later, when the sun was shining, got to work.