Reversing camera HELP

Started by deviantmr-s, May 9, 2020, 19:17

deviantmr-s

I have fitted a cheap double din touchscreen, which works well...but, and there is always a but!

The reversing camera I have attempted to fit does not work... see pics below... where have I gone wrong in the wiring???

The camera is supposed to cut in when I go into reverse, but it is not cutting in on the screen...

I am an artist - the track is my canvas, my car is my brush - 2003 2zz Island Green Supercharged

shnazzle

Hard to say without knowing the wiring diagram for that radio. 
Is that red, what I assume is a "trigger" wire, going into the yellow s-video connector? Not seen that before. Not convinced by that. 

Usually there's a wire (the lilac one?) that gets a signal from the handbrake sensor or the brake light. That triggers the reverse functionality on the unit. 
Then an entirely separate video cable (yellow connector) is for the video feed. The camera then also takes power from the rear brake light usually and ground from somewhere around there.
...neutiquam erro.

shnazzle

Never mind.
Just googled and the "tailed" trigger wire is a thing. Never knew! Mine was separate. 

In that case... Nope.. Stuck. 
Setting in radio? 
Have you measured 12v on that wire when reverse is activated?
...neutiquam erro.

deviantmr-s

No, the red looks like that on the pic, but if you look closely... the red and black wire come from the yellow video connector. Red into the pink (back-in on the harness to the stereo).
I am an artist - the track is my canvas, my car is my brush - 2003 2zz Island Green Supercharged

deviantmr-s

Quote from: shnazzle on May  9, 2020, 21:06Never mind.
Just googled and the "tailed" trigger wire is a thing. Never knew! Mine was separate.

In that case... Nope.. Stuck.
Setting in radio?
Have you measured 12v on that wire when reverse is activated?

Will test it as I am at a loss...

moredun