Engine flat spot

Started by Anonymous, June 22, 2005, 22:44

Anonymous

I wonder if anyone can help or has experianced a similar problem. I've just bought a 2000 MRS import. It's a babe and I love it although, there is a flat spot when you push your foot hard on the accelerator the engine sort of stutters. Let me try and help.... Bru........Bruuuuooooom Bru...........broooooomm... it has had a full RAC inspection and has been given a diagnostic check with no fault found. The only other thing is, it's got a TRD exhaust and I don't know if this would alter anything... Heeelp.. thanks...  Also who is MrT..?? sorry i'm a newbie and all though.. thanks..

GSB

Sounds like an intake problem... Remove and carefully clean the Air flow sensor (MAF), and then check all the joints in the air intake for air tightness.

Next on the list would be the dreaded pre-cat problem, but if its just a stutter followed by a resumption of normal service I think we can discount that.

Mr. T is is man who can significantly improve your power to weight ratio.

He does this by removing significant quantities of cash from your wallet at any given oppertunity. He is more usually know as your local Toyota main dealer...
[size=50]Ex 2001 MR2 Roadster in Silver
Ex 2004 Facelift MR2 Roadster in Sable Grey
Ex 2007 Mazda 6 MPS in Mica Black
Current 2013 Mazda MX5 2.0 \'Venture Edition\' Roadster Coupe in Brilliant Black[/size]

darrenjuggins

Hi,

I've been experiencing this problem, had to CEL's now for fuel mixture and he's now diganosed it as a MAF falure - parts on order, will hopefully sort the mixture and also flatspot problem....

Flat spot is worst at 4 to 5 k and above (i.e. VVT Zone)

I'll let you know friday after new part has been fitted.

Cheers

Darren J
Darren A. Juggins

Anonymous