Another brake disc thread

Started by Anonymous, September 14, 2005, 11:23

Anonymous

Hi,

I hoped this thread would never be written but unfortunately my '2 has failed it's MOT today due to an inbalance in the front brakes.

I have known that the discs are rusty and a bit scored for a while but was kind of putting off the inevitable.

MrT (Inchscape Guildford) want £570 for discs and pads on all corners. I pretty much laughed and said no chance. I have now ordered all the parts from Speedways for £230. I have read on here about people fitting their own pads & discs and that it is a pretty simple job, anyone have any tips/guides (note I have never worked on brakes before)? I think Tem said in one thread that once you had removed the caliper the disc pretty much fell off and would only be held on by rust, from that I am hoping it should be easy.

Do I need any additional tools? I read somewhere about possibly needing a tool to push the caliper back in?   s:? :? s:?   Suppose I need to pick up some copper grease and brake cleaner (any particular type)?

To cap it all off my MOT has run out. For some reason I thought I had one until the end of Sept instead it expired yesterday. I drove to Mr T this morning thinking that I was on my way to the testing centre so would be ok, am I ok to drive the car home? I asked them if the retest would be free and they said it would be if I could get it back to them tomorrow. They said that once the car had "left the premises" it would no longer be free, although somehow I can get away with taking it home tonight then returning it tomorrow, can anyone clarify this at all???   s:? :? s:?  

Sorry for the big rant about this but I just want to be sure of what I am doing before I get the parts tomorrow.

Thanks,

Paul.

Tem

Quote from: "fraz"I have read on here about people fitting their own pads & discs and that it is a pretty simple job, anyone have any tips/guides (note I have never worked on brakes before)?