I want one!!

Started by Anonymous, September 30, 2003, 20:52

Anonymous

Hi   s:D :D s:D  , i've been reading this forum for months and it helped me make my decision to buy a new Mr2.  Have had it since 1st Sep and am loving it.  

BUT, i really want an MP3 player for the car and im worried that I cant get the one that seems perfect for it.  Its the Blaupunkt CompactDrive MP3 (£189.95,   m http://www.incardiscount.co.uk/acatalog ... RS_21.html m  ) but I dont think it will work with the H/U (im new to this stuff so please dont flame me).  

Does anyone know if this is compatible with my H/U? Is the H/U a Fujitsu? What inputs are there in the back?

Does anyone out there have any MP3 players (CD or Hard Drive) thats used with the stock H/U?

Sorry about all the questions and many thanks in advance!!

Slacey

Buster is the 'don' of the Audio forum, so i'm sure he will be along in a minute to dispense some of his Godfather like advice   s:wink: :wink: s:wink:  
Alternatively, send him a PM, he's a nice guy really, and knows his sh*t   s:D :D s:D
Ex 2002 Black / Red Leather Hass Turbo

Anonymous

Quote from: "roadsterboy"Does anyone know if this is compatible with my H/U? Is the H/U a Fujitsu? What inputs are there in the back?

Buster is indeed your man... but just in case you've already got your CC out:

The unit you suggested says: "Compatible With All Blaupunkt Head Units which are CD Changer Compatible AND Have Disc Naming".

Your 2003 Roadster has a custom Panasonic HU, which may not even be Pana compatible let alone Blaupunkt.  

I did used to have an MP3 unit in my last car, I had a Sony MD head unit and a 6CD MP3 changer (the T70-MX FWIW).  Was fantastic, until it jammed, so I sold the car.  With that you just needed a Sony CD Changer compatible head unit... the MP3 bit just made it look to the HU like the CD had lots and lots of tracks on.  If the HU had CD Name support then it displayed track titles.