Paint repair help

Started by shnazzle, May 20, 2020, 15:31

shnazzle

Now I know there are a good few peeps on here that know how to spray stuff rather well. So I've got a idea. 

I've got a big bubbly rust spot on my door. Have had for years. 
Instead of having it repaired I figured why not give it a go? 

So here's the damage:
You cannot view this attachment.

I don't have a compressor and want to do it with the door on. 
Instruct me :)

1) Sand down to metal
2) angle-grind flat carefully 
3) bodywork filler it smooth
4) zinc primer for rust
5).... Spraying stuff. 

I'm lazy so I want ebay links to tools, fillers, sprays, etc :)
Color code is 1E3 for the lovely sable. 
Not just laziness. I reckon this is not an uncommon repair so handy to have in the archive.

Thanks!
...neutiquam erro.

Topdownman

I am no expert but for me, in my inexpert opinion, the main issue is that you cant get the same paint from an acrylic rattle can compared to the water based paint/lacquer finish from a professional. Lacquering rattle can paint doesnt always adhere well either. 

I would always start any project with a visit to a painter or two to get quotes. The cost of colour matched rattle cans etc soon mounts up and you may not save much/any money. The professional would just have to get a bit of your colour in and would have all the other stuff anyway.

Once you have put rattle can on your car, it would have to be taken off if you ever wanted to have professional work done (as the two paints react). Ask me how I know!

(PS Dont get halfords colour matched 1E3, ask me how I know).

If you are planning to get into home spraying though with compressor etc, thats a different story as you can use the same paint as the pro.

I do like rustoleum combicolour paint though if you fancy a whole car repaint, I did my VW T4 with this with a brush on my drive! Would be perfect for a track car I reckon.

My list would look something like this;