Car turns over but not starting

Started by ty222, December 9, 2023, 10:34

ty222

Hi guys

I'm really having no luck with my 2 lately, this week it's been driving well and then it got to Wednesday and the car wouldn't start

Seems to turn over fine, I even tried jumper cables, but no start .

I have since replaced all spark plugs and nothing.

Any ideas on what I should try next please ?the turnover seems powerful and consistent and I have half a tank if fuel. Toad immobilizer is off or it wouldn't crank. I am sad!

Gaz mr-s

I'm not an expert on this subject. I believe the standard Toyota immobiliser can go faulty & the car will still turn over.  Toad-?  An aftermarket?

Carolyn

Me too 'Toad'??

The cars will turn over with the immobiliser on, but won't start.  That's true for Euro model cars and JDM cars with Thatcham immobiliser.  Usually an immobilser kills the fuel pump or ignition but not the starter.
Perry Byrnes Memorial Award 2016, 2018.  Love this club. 
https://www.mr2roc.org/forum/index.php?topic=63866.0

ty222

My immobiliser is toad but I'm sure that's working because mine doesn't even turn over unless the clutch is in and the bottom left button has disarmed it.

I don't believe it's got a standard one as it's an import and even the key is custom.

I'll go and check the fuel pump has power next I guess.its just crazy it was working fine without any hiccup and now this, I just love winter  :'(

ty222

Guys I'm quite confident it's not my immobiliser, my immobiliser goes green as it should and the red light disappears showing it's disarmed . I can then hear the whirring noise stop as normal.

paulj

If it is not the immobiliser then the search must go back to basics.  To start the engine you need fuel and spark.  Check your sparkies and also make sure fuel is getting to the injectors or the rail.  Good luck!
Today
2000 x reg pfl - blue - as original no mods
In the late 1980's
1982 x reg Toyota Corolla Liftback Coupe (also blue)