Double din from Supra(paypal claim advice needed)

Started by Anonymous, March 26, 2009, 19:08

Anonymous

Hi just picked up a double din that was fitted in a 95 Toyota Supra from ebay for £60,it has sat nav,tv,cd,radio etc.Am i right in thinking this should go straight into my '2?

wbarrwebster

I'm no expert but me thinks the unit being double din should fit...although the thought crossed my mind, what aerial can you use to pull in a TV signal?

The car that it came out of probably had an integrated  TV aerial, I suggest you'll have a problem obtaining one that will look ok in the soft top 2, assuming you don't have a TV aerial with it, my experience  is that they are normally about a foot long and are V shaped.......where do you site that in the car?  

I bought a Chinese Unit from the same site, Radio, CD, TV, DVD..........didn't fit it, couldn't set up TV for reasons mentioned. DVD was fantastic, CD was ok, Radio not great on pulling in signal, having said that the unit was not a known brand....you pays you money....

Hope it works out !

B
W. B. Webster

uktotty

Looks like a Bargain Bry.
Should fit fine  s:) :) s:)

Anonymous

Not too worried about TV as everything is going digital anyway so wont get a signal even with proper ariel when that happens.Not much of a risk at £60.

wbarrwebster

Hi again,

I've assumed the unit came from a UK speced car, obviously if its an import with a Jap domestic unit, you'll need a band expander and the DVD format maybe different.

B
W. B. Webster

Anonymous

Hmmm may be from an import,can those things you mentioned be fixed if it needs it?

wbarrwebster

You can buy a band expander on Ebay, not expensive, can't say about DVD format......Just been informed, the Jap DVD is Region 2 same as ours, so ok!!

Surely the guy that sold it must have had the same issues and hopefully resolved them prior to you buying..?