CD-RW's won't play on stock head unit

Started by swandez, June 7, 2017, 16:08

swandez

Spent about 4 hours burning some mp3 files onto CD-RW's last night, this morning popped in the car, put the shades on & popped the CD's in the head unit and nothing !!!

CD's were burned in iTunes on an iMac, anyone know if I've done something wrong? I think the write settings were all at default?

Thanks

Paul

Topdownman

I am no expert but I am sure that I have found in the past that old head units only play original cds.
"Racing" tax disc holder (binned), Poundland air freshener, (ran out), Annoying cylinder deficiency,  (sorted),
Winner of the Numb bum award 2017
Readers Ride

06 not V6 readers ride

The Other Stu

CD-RWs are notoriously naughty on what they play on. There were about 4 different types.
Back in the day, I was in PC Support when they first came out. Many drives just wouldn't recognise them, and they're designed for data rather than music.
I would have recorded to CD-Rs. Most things will accept those.

Also, does the head unit support MP3 format? I'd be surprised if it did. I know my 56 plate Vectra did, but the previous car, a Peugeot on a 54 plate didn't. My 2000 model Rover certainly didn't (although it recognised CD-Rs, which my previous car didn't)
No Longer Here

swandez

Quote from: "The Other Stu"CD-RWs are notoriously naughty on what they play on. There were about 4 different types.
Back in the day, I was in PC Support when they first came out. Many drives just wouldn't recognise them, and they're designed for data rather than music.
I would have recorded to CD-Rs. Most things will accept those.

Also, does the head unit support MP3 format? I'd be surprised if it did. I know my 56 plate Vectra did, but the previous car, a Peugeot on a 54 plate didn't. My 2000 model Rover certainly didn't (although it recognised CD-Rs, which my previous car didn't)