Using the A/C button for ANTENNA CONTROL not air conditioning

Started by Yellowicken, June 6, 2019, 22:15

Yellowicken

Hello to all in MR2 roadster world.

First post and very new to this forum.

I have a bog standard 04 plate. I've had it a few months now and enjoying ownership.

I've cleared out the pre-cats and put a switch for the bin lorry reverse noise in the coin slot.

I now want a switch for the standard aerial set up.
I've seen the passenger window disable switch solution and this seems easy enough but I've not seen anyone use the A/C button.

My car doesn't have air con, just a blank where the button would be.
I have discovered that behind the blank is a switch that is wired up and when pressed lights an LED.
If I get an A/C button and wire it to operate the aerial (maybe even light the LED when the aerial is up) I'd be pretty happy.

There is a block connector (picture below hopefully) that feeds the panel but I'm no auto electrician so any advice about making this happen would be great.

Got to be cool having a labelled ANTENNA CONTROL (A/C) button just above the stereo  :)

shnazzle

I was mighty confused until you mentioned you had no A/C.
That's rather brilliant! Do it!

.. And welcome :)
...neutiquam erro.

Ardent

Hello and welcome.

Devil in the detail.
As a 1st post, you have slipped in, a switch for disabling the reverse beeps.

That needs expanding on.

Despite knowing what a 2 looks like.
We do like to see some pics.

househead

I like this (if only for retaining the use of the passenger lock button and all the fun that can be had with that). Let us know how you get on.

I'm intending to use the passenger window lock button as it stands, I think most on here use that for the aerial control.

I'm even more interested in your switch for the reverse sound. Any chance you could fill us in on how you did it?