Videos for the web?

Started by Chris, September 22, 2003, 21:15

Chris

Well, I've bought meself a firewire card and have tranferred the footage I took at the midlands meet, which leads me to conclude:

1) I'm a crap filmmaker
2) DV footage is huge - 4.5 minutes = 911mb!!!   s:shock: :shock: s:shock:  
3) I'm gonna need a bigger hard disk!   s:roll: :roll: s:roll:  

I've cut some sections out, but even 15 secs is still 10mb!!!   s:shock: :shock: s:shock:  
Looks like you guys will have to wait while I'll have to work out how to make it smaller!!  Even though they are mpg's, I'm guessing that 720x576 @25fps is just too big for the web - I'll try at it's suggested web video res of 320x280

The other question is plates - normally for pics I would blank them, but can't do that on video, do other people do it? how?  Would anyone have any objections to me posting vids (if I can get them small enough!!   s:twisted: :twisted: s:twisted:  )
[size=100]
2004 Maroon Lotus Elise 111R[/size]
[size=80]Ex 2004 Red 6sp MT TTE Turbo
Ex 2003 Astral Black 6sp SMT
Ex 2002 Lagoon Blue 5sp MT
[/size]

Anonymous

Quote from: "Chris"blank them, but can't do that on video

Your just not trying hard enough!  s;) ;) s;)

I don't mind...

Low res, lower quality (drop the bitrate), and perhaps even lower frame rate (don't forget to do the same for the sound too!) and you should end up with something reasonable.

Slacey

TBH Chris, I don't mind if my car is on there anywhere.
Ex 2002 Black / Red Leather Hass Turbo

Anonymous

im not fussed either.

Ive not had a problem saving videos and uploading them... just make sure they are not to big... 320x280 sounds pretty good... they dont need to be great quality either.. just good enough!   s:D :D s:D

Chris

Ok guys, check these out:

m http://www.btinternet.com/~chris.roy/Vids.htm m

For some reason it didn't want to let me link to the vids individually, taking me to the btopenworld homepage instead...   s:twisted: :twisted: s:twisted:
[size=100]