knocking, nearside rear

Started by Anonymous, December 14, 2003, 13:51

Anonymous

W reg, about 26k, manual, mainly driven by my wife... Anyway, our well loved mr2 has suddenly developed a knocking noise, seemingly nearside rear. Must be something to do with the drive as the engine sounds fine in neutral and and the noise only occurs when accelerating, stops when you press the clutch, gets quicker the quicker you go. No expert, but driveshaft? Couldn't book it in to my local Toyota garage directly (Motorline Canterbury), have to ring a central number apparently. Bit odd, although I did ring on Saturday afternoon. Anyway, are there any ideas or similar problems encountered out there? If it is a knackered driveshaft how much is MR T likely to charge?

Slacey

It does sound to me like it could be the driveshaft (more likely the bearings though), but I'm no expert - personally I would get it looked at ASAP and take it to the dealer first thing Monday morning - better safe than sorry!
As for repair costs, I have no idea, but I assume your car is out of warranty now?

BTW, it's the first time I've heard of anything like this  s:( :( s:(
Ex 2002 Black / Red Leather Hass Turbo

Anonymous

Yep, out of warranty and bought privately so the bank account gets it! A further question to the more mechanically minded out there, if it is a drive-shaft/bearing problem could this have been caused by a big impact from, for example a  large pot hole. Just starting to gather evidence against the local council who seem reluctant to mend a truly awful bit of road that I have to drive every day. You can slalom round the holes most of the time but inevitably on a dark night with oncoming traffic there is the odd 'CRASH' which given the mr2's suspension set up makes me wince. (And by the way, as a newbie, what a fantastic forum and club!)

Anonymous