Performance modifications for 2004 n/a MK3 Race Car

Started by Rowland, December 14, 2008, 11:56

Rowland

Hi all,

As you may or may not know I'm entering the MR2 Championship race series in a mk3 next year, having raced for two years in a mk2.
I'm after some advice regarding aftermarket performance modifications, or rather the tried and tested modifications of those in the know, you guys.
Now my background is with mk2's and have tailored my mk2 race car with suitable 'function over form' modifications from a build up of knowledge first hand, and from various forums.

The basic car is this that I picked up for a song the other week.

An eBay purchase, a 2004 UK Roadster, 30,000 miles with small n/s front accident damage - £2150!
It's currently in the bodyshop and rough estimates should see it back on the road for £1000-£1200 spend.

My budget then for race prep is in the region of £7000, which may sound substantial but bare in mind a roll cage supplied and fitted is roughly £1k alone.
Other than stripping weight out and the various safety measurements needed, i.e extinguisher ignition cuts offs etc I could do with some guidance on the following.

Suspension:
The regulations stipulate that non-adjustable fixed dampers must be used. Lowering springs are permitted.
What would be the combination of choice for springs and dampers for a mk3?

Exhaust:
I see Blue Flame, Cobra and other exhausts mentioned frequently on here, but I wondered which would offer the most performance gains for an n/a mk3?
First hand experiences would be fantastic and /or dyno plots.
Weight would be another aspect to consider.
A lightweight performance exhaust which offers a small increase in bhp, retains the necessary back pressure and isn't one of the god awful systems on eBay would be ideal.

Induction:
Again, air filter of choice for maximum breathability and performance gains.

Brake pads will probably be Carbotech after using them successfully for the past two years in the mk2.