Thinking about getting a MR2 but this pre-cat stuff is....

Started by vatovey, June 17, 2009, 11:09

vatovey

Morning Ladies/Gents,

Newbie here, and along with it, a newbie question which I'm sure has been asked a million times before (apologies).

Currently have a BMW E46 compact, and a Peugeot 306 HDi. Thinking of getting rid of the 306 and getting a MR2 Roadster - most probably around X/Y/51 plate (ie: around £4000-4500) , I have been doing a little research on the MR2 and it seems like some engines are failing due to pre-cat debry floating around in the engine, as a potential new owner this does worry me alot as from the sounds of things there is no way to tell when viewing a car as to the condition of the pre-cats and associated parts which fail, or am I wrong in thinking that ??, if I am - what things can I check when viewing MR2's ?

Out of say 1000 cars, how many are likely to suffer the dreaded pre-cat/engine dead problems ?

I assume the other things to check for are the same for all other cars, ie: air-con, electrics, rubber seals, water leaks, smokey exhaust etc...

All the best, Vaughn.
South Wales, UK.

enid_b

the thing to remember is that you are asking a question on a forum dedicated to mr2 owners and enthusiasts. we generally have a better knowledge and want to improve/maintain our cars to the 'n'th degree. so any little idiosyncracy picked up on here will generally be discussed until the cows come home. (which is not always a bad thing)

consider how many mr2 roadsters there are in existence globally, and then the uk, then the members of this club it has affected, it is a very very small number. obviously it is going to draw a lot of attention on this website.