2 buy or not 2 buy?

Started by Anonymous, July 14, 2009, 08:05

Anonymous

I am new to MR2 having just sold my V6 spider, which frankly, whilst great in many ways was just TOO powerful for a front drive car.
My question, I have about £3-£3.5K to spend as the Alfa was not cheap to keep!  s:x :x s:x  
There is an 03 silver on Ebay with 110,000 which i saw yesterday when i was in Swansea at my sons graduation. The owner took me out, drove well.
Minus points, no service history beyond 46,000, but one owner car who is known to the sellor who has assured him that it has been regularly serviced by himself. Small dings on wing and bonnet. 3 of the wheels showing quite significant corrosion, but otherwise neat!
Or go for an 00/01/02 with less miles and a full history??  s:) :) s:)

onion86

Personally i'd stretch or wait and stretch to get a facelift model with less miles, does depend on how long you're intending to keep it but 110k is quite high for a 6year old car. Mine is 3 years older and still only around the 50k mark so doesn't miss a beat. If the car has been self serviced well then that's fine, do that myself too and probably check over more things than a garage does!

Welcome to the club, you've chosen a great little car to go for; hope you find what you want soon.
Sable 55 C-One MR2 C2 Turbo - A/C, Black Heated Leather, TTE Twin Exhaust, Cruise Control

Anonymous

I would get one with lower mileage aswell.  Mine is just 3 years old and has under 10k miles on

Some people use them as their daily drive but some like me, use them just in summer so there must be some lower mileage ones out there.  That's just my opinion but i'd definitely go for one with service history   s:) :) s:)   even if the budget doesnt stretch

uktotty

You wont get a facelift for £3.5k so dont even bother.
Go with the high mileage one, all the bits that would have broken would have been replaced by then.
Mine has 100k and had new rad, new tyres, new discs, new pads.

MR 2ster