What tyre pressures for RE040s?

Started by mrsmr2, May 16, 2004, 22:19

mrsmr2

I checked my tyre pressures today and found the fronts at 28 and 29 psi and both rears at 34-35psi.

I put them down to the figures in the manual 26 front and 32 rear and went for a quick spin.  Ride was better but it may have understeered more.

I've only had my 2 for 48 hours so I'm still learning it.  Therefore, being so new to the car, it's difficult to make accurate comparisons.

What tyre pressures do you use?  What setting will give me less understeer?
04 Astral Black, hard top, air con, black leather, Corky\'s MSMB; FSB;  RMB; RLCB, empty exhaust manifold, cg-lock.  Warranty: new wheels @ 20k, new pads and discs @ 21k, new wheels @ 26.4k

juansolo

Quote from: "mrsmr2"What tyre pressures do you use?  What setting will give me less understeer?

Standard pressures = understeer.  Reducing pressure at the front will help reduce this.  As will not going into corners too quickly   s:wink: :wink: s:wink:

Couldn't tell you the pressures I'm at as I haven't been bothered to play with them just yet, now that I'm back on the Bridgestones that is.
[size=75]Porsche Cayman - Curvy (almost) perfection
Juno SSE-CN - Bonkers track thing
Mercedes 190E - Das Uberbarge still going strong[/size]

SteveJ

If this is your first rear-wheel drive mide-engined car then I would suggest staying with a mildy understeering setup whilst you get to know the car (which is what Toyota have set the car up to be staright out-of-the-box). Once you know what the car is doing, as Juansolo suggest, gradually lower the front pressures until the car has a tendancy to mild oversteer.

Don't drop them too much as you will find a very sudden tendancy to understeer caused by the tyre rolling over on the rim.

mrsmr2