I'm looking for a ragtop - What makes the MR2 so good?

Started by Timbo, April 13, 2013, 20:25

Timbo

Hi Everyone,

Newbie here so please be gentle!

We're in the market for a fun ragtop/roadster, not as an everyday runner but for the weekends when the sun is out and we fancy a bit of wind in our hair, We are empty nesters with the kids at Uni and are treating ourselves now we have a little more disposable income! With that in mind, we're doing the rounds of the forums of our shortlist models, MGTF, MX5, Audi TT, and of course MR2.

So, as I've asked in other forums, why do you love the MR2? Why, in your obviously unbiased opinion, does the MR2 lie head and shoulders above the other marques we've considered? We know that they all have their strengths and weaknesses (brakes, head gaskets, cost, image etc etc), but why should I put my cash into an MR2?

Also, when considering value for money, what would we realistically expect to get for £5k? We'd ideally like as new a model as possible, leather interior with any other luxury extra our budget would run to!

Thanks everyone, really appreciate your time,

Timbo

Anonymous

Hi and welcome to the club   s:D :D s:D  

I could say a great deal but if you click on any of the two links in my signature it might give an idea why I like this little car   s:wink: :wink: s:wink:

dj2k21

The only thing I can say about your list of cars really is.....

Mg... well need I say more, headgasket lol

Mx5 has the engine in the wrong end  s:) :) s:)

Audi tt good luck finding one that isnt an absolute shed for 5k i reckon.

Mr2 is outstanding.  Handles better than the others and has a better owners club :p