Zspeed’s Shirubārōdosutā

Started by Zspeed, August 25, 2021, 07:21

Zspeed

Hi all,
I thought I would start taking the time to build my ride thread as people on the forum have been helpful at every turn and they might enjoy some of my journey to.

15-20 years ago I used to work in the motor trade and used to get to ride around in various sports cars belonging to management and visit the motor shows. I myself had Golf Gtis, Subaru etc but the best car I had myself was a standard 02 plate Elise. I rushed out and bought one after doing a track experience day at Rockingham. I had it for 2 years as a daily putting 30k on it. Fantastic. Unfortunately i traded it in when I was invited to join the management team and was asked to take a company car. A nicer house was on the horizon so it had to go.

Fast forward to this year and I decided to pick up a lockdown roadster earlier this year when I realised how boring my work commute had become. I have been working throughout and the empty roads and great countryside views made me think.   Why am I in this van? I don't use the space in the back most of the time and with the wife getting a SUV I can always use that when required for my fishing trips.

After doing a load of Research,  contemplating various other cars and taking into account my much reduced budget (I would be selling the van and topping it up), I felt that the MR2 Roadster was the closest experience I am going to get to the Elise for my budget.

I was trying to stay calm and make a sensible purchase, but my excitement got the better of me, and instead of waiting until after lockdown and more cars to come on the market I sneaked out and picked up a Silver 04 with a black hardtop, aircon, style bar, air filter,black wheels, a box full of spares and 90k on the clock. It had done about 5k in 5 years after the previous owner had took it on as a project.