What is the purpose of these fittings on my MR2?

Started by kbpop123, March 6, 2023, 22:52

kbpop123

Newbie here having bought an 06 in January. And the reason for the post – What is the purpose of the 2 sets of nut/bolt/washer with link assemblies on the engine cover (hopefully clear in the pics)? I did look at a number of Mk3's before buying, all were year 03/ 04. I pretty sure none of them had this 'feature'.
Thanks Kevin

Call the midlife!

Welcome. Sorry to say those look like something a previous owner has added for some reason, although what that reason might be is a new one to me.
But I'm sure we'll all be as curious as you to find out...
60% of the time it works everytime...

Ardent

Ardent

s12vea

Another one won't hurt  .....

Topdownman

Hello and welcome.

Not something I have ever seen before so agree that it is something a former owner has done. Looks like a pair of handles but no idea what for.
"Racing" tax disc holder (binned), Poundland air freshener, (ran out), Annoying cylinder deficiency,  (sorted),
Winner of the Numb bum award 2017
Readers Ride

06 not V6 readers ride

Ardent

I have this daft idea of some sort of cradle.

Something else is missing but hooks in and suspends above the heat shield.
Keep your chips warm.

shnazzle

I'm going to lose sleep not knowing what those were added for. And also, why he/she used such massive washers
...neutiquam erro.

Petrus

It is an energy save:

@Ardent  indeed to hook op a basket; with lunch/supper

@shnazzle for the healthy appetite

Close the lid and cook while driving.

Call the midlife!

The only thing I can think of is that they've been mounting points for clipping a working light/inspection lamp or something similar to but that's a lot of trouble to go to for something as banal as that, especially when they're visible from the outside...

tricky1138