Engine Coolant Drain

Started by Mook, October 23, 2021, 21:10

Mook

I'm new to this car maintenance stuff, and I'm looking at the picture on page CO-2 of the BGB, but still have no idea where to find the engine drain plug. I assume it is underneath the car, but to be honest I can't even figure out which way up that picture goes  :-[

Does anybody happen to have a convenient photo / idiot-proof directions on where to find it please?

shnazzle

Looks like a little tap.

Edit: removed the pic as it was crap and not representative haha
...neutiquam erro.

Mook

That's the same pic I was looking at... call me an idiot, but from where is that bottom pic of the engine taken, and how should I be aiming to get to it?

Mook

Quote from: Mook on October 23, 2021, 21:40That's the same pic I was looking at... call me an idiot, but from where is that bottom pic of the engine taken, and how should I be aiming to get to it?

And before anybody says anything (perhaps I am just too used to my daughter's pedantry!), I know it's a drawing not a pic, but you get what I mean... where is the "camera"? The diagram is not sufficiently idiot-proof  :P

shnazzle

Quote from: Mook on October 23, 2021, 21:43
Quote from: Mook on October 23, 2021, 21:40That's the same pic I was looking at... call me an idiot, but from where is that bottom pic of the engine taken, and how should I be aiming to get to it?

And before anybody says anything (perhaps I am just too used to my daughter's pedantry!), I know it's a drawing not a pic, but you get what I mean... where is the "camera"? The diagram is not sufficiently idiot-proof  :P
The camera is attached to the bottom of the middle of the subframe, looking forwards.

But... Unless my memory is failing me, I remember taking it out more on the left front side of the engine. The pic suggests middle bottom.

Maybe I'm missing something but I know I removed the plug and it was definitely higher up and to the left. Little 4mm bent pipe sticking off a bolt.