51 SMT. Slippy clutch?

Started by Anonymous, February 7, 2008, 21:00

Anonymous

Hi, I've had my smt nearly a year now, been great love it loads, only problem is over the last few weeks its been hesitating when changing up gear. almost like it slipping?
i rang mr t and spoke to a tech and he said it could be my clutch slipping meaning replacement which as its in 3 parts was about £200 + vat. or a gear selector switch or something.
 is the clutch a dealer only part?
and is it likely to be a worn and slippy clutch, or the gear selector switch thing.

its done about 40k miles on a 51 plate, and i'm a fairly hard driver, i drive it how it was designed to be driven   s:D :D s:D

kanujunkie

if thats parts and labour thats a really good price  s:shock: :shock: s:shock:  

i've paid £300 once for fit only although i was put in a tight spot due to time and that is over inflated southern prices
[size=100]Stu[/size]
[size=80]rip - C2 chargecooled roadster
now Subaru Impreza WRX STi with PPP
ex committee 2004-2009[/size]

davidhowson

I would suggest resetting the ECUs on the car by disconneting the battery for an hour or even overnight to clear out the memories in both the engine management and the SMT controller.

A second action I have taken was to get my local dealer to clear down the SMT ECU and teach the gearbox where all the gears are again. This, I am told, gets the gearbox over any normal wear in the system. I can only seak as I find on this and it certainly has made a significant difference to my up-shift.

- David

Anonymous

hi , cheers for the quick reply guys,

stu - i got quoted 200 + vat + fitting.

david - i've read this before about re-learning the ecu and teaching the gearbox where the gears again.
i dont really understand it much, any chance of a bit more info on this?

nin

davidhowson