where does MAF go??! - Stock airbox VS induction

Started by crazy6, April 27, 2010, 18:09

crazy6

I'm trying to get my head around the MAF and what to do if I want to ditch the stock airbox. If I get a pre packaged "kit" ( AEM ) does it have the hole and screw points for the MAF?! Does this mean buying a  and some silicone tubing would not be possible because I would have to manually relocate the MAF?

At this stage it looks like the easiest/cheapest solution without spending £200 on an AEM is to replace the restrictive tubing between the side vent and stock box, cut out internal plastic wall IN the box and replace the panel filter with a K&N.

I looked online to see if you can buy a length of 3" pipe with MAF holes pre-cut for an MR2 but no luck.

Any thoughts welcome as I'm just starting out o some DIY mods.

uktotty

AEM Comes with a hole for the MAF
No mods needed

andywood

I would suggest not messing around with the internal design of the OEM airbox, the MAFS are fairly standard fit items, but there is an element of 'tweaking' that goes into the airbox designs for various reasons (e.g NVH) as well as flow patterns to suit the correct function of the MAFS.
Not saying that it would cause a problem if you did mess with the internal of the airbox, but why bother as is unlikely to offer any flow advantage.
The dirty-side inlet duct is another subject though and there are clearly flow gains to be had with removing the restriction, although end results on engine performance remain relatively unproven.

Andy.
2003 Silver + Stuff = [strike]235bhp/225lbft[/strike],  + rethink = 195bhp

uktotty

Andy, you cant fit the AEM and keep the airbox

custardavenger

There are lots of options for induction kits. All good kits will come with the maf mount and should require the simplest fitting using stock fixing locations. Were I to be buying one I would probably go for something like this
 m http://www.monkeywrenchracing.com/produ ... ts_id=1032 m