cat removal

Started by Anonymous, May 8, 2011, 18:47

Anonymous

hi guys once again im new to this so aploagise if this isnt in the right section

right iv had the mr2 about 3 months now and want it to sound abit throatier

iv also just learned that theres one main cat and 2 pre cats

iv oredered a decat manifold and was wondering if this will make it pop more ? or sound better???

so basicly thats what i want to know ...will it sound better or will i need to remove the other cat aswell:)    

thanks  s:) :) s:)     jay

mrzwei

Hi,It's a good idea to get rid of the pre-cats and a che type manifold will do this and will usually sound and perform a bit better.
If you remove the main cat then it will fail an exhaust emissions test and will therefore be illegal.
Lots on here get around this by replacing the main cat with a sports cat.

Search precats and you will crash your computer with info overload   s:D :D s:D
Ex.MR2 SMT sadly missed.
Saab 9-5 Turbo, Hirsch stage 1, Sports suspension and anti roll bars, uprated disks, sports intake and filter and various other bits. 210bhp, 320Nm.
Talbot Express campervan with carb, distributor, coil and no cat! SOLD

Anonymous

If you want a better sound add induction and/or after market exhaust,a Markiii pipe will make a decent difference for the money but best noise comes from after market exhausts.

Anonymous

thanks for both replies there much appretiated ..... whats a markiii pipe?? lol is it possible to just decat the standard exhaust ??? im also in abit of a rut with the whole exhaust choice thing aswell i really like the team moon sound but when i called and had a chat with them i discovered the postage was quite expensive... does anyone know if i can get a similar sounding exhaust in the uk ???      thanks      jay

deadmau5

l viewtopic.php?f=36&t=28403 l  - Markiii has two left for sale

Everyone on here seems to recommend cobra exhausts;  m http://www.cobrasport.com/exhaust/Toyot ... 0#products m  .

uktotty