Piggy back ecu . Plug and play ???

Started by Tommygun1, November 9, 2011, 23:35

Tommygun1

Just wondering how people rate these as I don't know what they really do (good or bad) . Would like a bit more performance  but was just thinking of getting it mapped . Which would be better . Also can I do it to a standard car . What's the going rate for a piggy back .
Cheers

markiii

You can't remap a stock ecu
Gallardo Spyder<br />Ex Midnight Blue 911 T4S<br />EX VXR220<br />Ex Custom Turbo 2001 Sahara Sun MR2 Roadster 269bp, 240lbft<br /><br />MR2ROC Committee 2002 - 2009<br /><br />

Tommygun1

Ah this helps I'm new to fiddling my car so that helps . Looks like the dasek chip gives the best increase in power with less mod .

stargazer30

Generally you add a chip to a car to supplement and make the most of other performance mods.  You won't gain much chipping a stock car.  Typically add a decent header, sports cat, cat back exhaust and cold air intake then chip it.

What I've found on NA cars is the mods above increase top end BHP but you loose mid range torque in the process.  The chip puts this back and further increases the top end BHP.

Now if you have a turbo then its a different matter!
2003 Silver MR2 - Very Very Standard + Leccy Renault Zoe aka the battery mobile.
Ex Blue 04 MR2 - TTE Turbo\'d ~185bhp/200lbs/ft, Sports Clutch, Breast Plate, Lowered & half decent audio
Ex Silver 05 MR2 -  SP turbo conversion 227bhp, 205lbs/ft, with  cobra dual exit exhaust.

Tommygun1

I see so its worth sorting out my exhaust and parts first . Ok lads thanks for the help will be doing this in the future then
Tom

dj2k21

Hi Tom, I'm just over Stockton and am usually over teesside park on a Wednesday night so if you need any help with anything or want some advise with things then drop me a message mate. But yes u need to start with the usual mods first before adding piggyback ecus. Personally I don't think there worth the money