Lambda Sensor, Bank 1, Sensor 1

Started by steph_p, September 16, 2012, 16:18

steph_p

Hi,

Im brand new to the forum, first post, so please bear with me   s:) :) s:)  

I've searched thorugh the forum but cant find the answers I need. I'm a complete novice!

Engine light is on and took the car to Kwik fit, told that I need a new Lambda sensor, bank 1 sensor 1. Which sensor is this? I've got really confused with the pre-cat, post-cat? Also looked on Europarts and they have rear and front??? Which one do I need?

Where abouts is this located in the engine? Is it a big job to change myself? (novice)

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Steph

AckersMR2

Info i copied from elsewhere on here  s;) ;) s;)

"Seems to be some confusion here as to which o2 sensor is which as far as I can tell from the technical information I have, there are three lambda (o2) sensors on the roadster (UK). The DTC codes and descriptions are as follows:

Bank 1 Sensor 1 is the top, pre-cat sensor on the right hand side of the manifold (when you are standing at the back of the car looking forward with the engine in front of you)
DTC Codes:
P0135 Oxygen Sensor Heater Circuit Malfunction(Bank 1 Sensor 1),
P0130 Oxygen Sensor Circuit Malfunction (Bank 1Sensor 1)
P0133 Oxygen Sensor Circuit Slow Response (Bank 1 Sensor 1)

Bank 2 Sensor 1 is the top, pre-cat sensor on the left hand side of the manifold (when you are standing at the back of the car looking forward with the engine in front of you)
DTC Codes:
P0155 Oxygen Sensor Heater Circuit Malfunction(Bank 2 Sensor 1)
P0150 Oxygen Sensor Circuit Malfunction (Bank 2 Sensor 1)
P0153 Oxygen Sensor Circuit Slow Response (Bank 2 Sensor 1)

Bank 1 Sensor 2 is the post cat sensor accessible from the bottom of the car just after the main cat. And by the way is a be-ach to get out.
DTC Codes:
P0141 Oxygen Sensor Heater Circuit Malfunction(Bank 1 Sensor 2)
P0136 Oxygen Sensor Circuit Malfunction (Bank 1 Sensor 2)"