Any ideas why I'm getting no sound?

Started by SombreroPeak, June 5, 2016, 20:31

SombreroPeak

So I disconnected the stereo that came with the car to swap it with the Bluetooth enabled Sony. The connectors fit, but I get no power at all.

The Sony came out of a Mercedes if that is important. Any ideas?

[/url][/img]

[/url][/img]
\'N-chilada\' 2003 Chili Red, Black Leather interior

beavisrules

seems OK.
is the larger MR2 connector the 10 pin one?. it should be.
you don't need the other connector plugged in and not sure what it'll do on a mr2(rear speakers, we don't have them.)

here's the wiring colours so you can check the adaptor connects the right things together.
 l viewtopic.php?f=31&t=34988 l

SombreroPeak

Thank you beavisrules, oddly, when I first put it in it worked, although there was no radio, so I took it out and found the aerial adapter still on the old Alpine.  Put that in, and plugged it back together, and since then, nothing...

SombreroPeak

I realise I'm new to this game, and it's got me stumped. My Sony works back in my old car, I've just checked it, but nothing in the MR2. I suspect that the wiring in the car is at fault consequently as I've had to mend two loose connections already. Do I literally have to go through each connection? They all look solid now. Interestingly someone had previously wired in this switch. When working it seemed simply to activate the aerial. Any thoughts? Can I just ignore it and splice the two wires together?

Any other thoughts gratefully received as my drive to work is dull without my tunes.

SombreroPeak

Ok, small brain working overtime. Could it be a blown fuse? If so, where do I look and which fuse do I check? Car came with no manual or any other docs.

Ardent

At least 3 fuse boxes that I know of.

I would hope the one you are looking for is in the cabin area.
Open the passenger door. Look to the side of the glove box and you should a cat flap panel on the end of the dash/centre consol.