Air filters - advice needed from clever people!!

Started by Anonymous, April 17, 2005, 12:45

Anonymous

I'm completely new to this air filtery stuff, but am considering getting one for my '2. I hear they can increase performance, economy, and sound better too.

I've checked loads of posts and Apexi comes up a lot, but a few people say it doesn't change performance at all and is purely cosmetic. Is this true???

Is there one generally considered to be the best? I'd want it to sound decent but not annoy me on m'way drives. Also, where can I get these from? I've looked on MRS Passion and the only similar looking thingamybob they have is 305 EUR!!!

Japanparts do an Apexi 'Power Intake' for £67. Is this all i'd need or are there various tubes and bits and bobs?

I'd like to know exactly what I need, so I can go to my garage with it and say 'oi, fit this'.

SOOOOOOOOO sorry for all the questions  s:oops: :oops: s:oops:   but, as you may have noticed, I am a total 'mod virgin'.   s:P :P s:P   So please help me pop my modding cherry, guys   s:shock: :shock: s:shock:    s:shock: :shock: s:shock:    s:shock: :shock: s:shock:    s:shock: :shock: s:shock:  

Thanks in advance for your help!!

Anonymous

Oh, almost forgot, my '2 is new so will twiddling with the filtery bits invalidate the warranty at all?  s:flame: :flame: s:flame:

Anonymous

It's understandable that you're looking for a bit more push from the car, Markymark, but slapping in a new air filter won't give you anything at all. For the kind of money this will cost you, you are much better off buying an antiflex plate.

Should you upgrade your exhaust system with an apexi, an H&K, a hi-flow cat, a TTE, dual pipes, something along these lines, then you want to upgrade the filter or go with a custom intake. Here's where the TRD filter comes into play, and it's a straight drop-in. Comes with a washing kit so you theoretically keep it for the life of the car. Expected gains? About 1/4hp.

Anonymous